Tuesday, 20 October 2009

ARTS BRIEF: Warner-Lewis, Kei Miller among 2009 Musgrave medallists

Professor Maureen Warner-Lewis

Andrew 'Kei' Miller

Last Wednesday, the Institute of Jamaica (IOJ) saluted the contributions of several Jamaicans in the arts and sciences with gold, silver and bronze Musgrave medals. Professor Maureen Warner-Lewis was recognized with a gold award for her contribution to scholarship and literature. A silver medal went to author and poet Andrew ‘Kei’ Miller (Fear of Stones), who was among the 10 writers worldwide long-listed for the 2008/9 Dylan Thomas Prize, an award which celebrates the achievement of a poet or novelist under the age of 30.

Silver medals also went to Professor Helen Jacobs (Organic Chemistry), Professor Gossett Oliver (Engineering), Paulette Bellamy (Music) and Jean Smith (Arts Administration) while bronze awards were presented to Wendy Lee (Environmental Conservation), Diana McCaulay (Environmental Conservation), Rhona Welsh (Needlecraft) and Marguerite Vernon (Music).

The Musgrave Award was established in 1889 in honour of Sir Anthony Musgrave, governor of Jamaica from 1877-1883 and founder of the IOJ in 1879. The award recognises notable contributions to literature, science and art in Jamaica and the West Indies.

No comments:

Post a comment