Monday, 5 October 2009

NEWS BRIEF: Nominees for 2009 Courtney Walsh Award announced

GOLDEN GIRL: Brigitte Foster-Hylton among nominees for 2009 Courtney Walsh Award

The 2009 nominees for the Courtney Walsh Award for Excellence in Sport have been announced. The nominees are Brigitte Foster-Hylton for athletics, Fabian Davis for football, Gareth Breese for cricket and Donovan Ricketts for football.

The winner, who will receive $500,ooo and a crystal trophy, will be announced at the Jamaica Pegasus Hotel on October 14 and presented with their prize by Prime Minister Bruce Golding. Past awardees include Elaine Davis (netball), Jimmy Adams (cricket) and Deon Hemmings-McCatty (athletics).

A nominee for the award must have had a history of outstanding achievements in his or her sport and must have shown a high commitment to fairness, teamwork and integrity in competitions. Additionally, he or she must have represented the country at the senior level in a sport recognised by the Jamaica Institute of Sports and the Jamaica Olympic Association.

The Courtney Walsh Award was established by former Prime Minister P.J. Patterson in 2005 and is supported by the National Council on Sports in collaboration with the CHASE Fund.

No comments:

Post a comment