Monday, 14 December 2009

SPORTS CULTURE: RJR Sportsman and Sportswoman nominees announced

ALWAYS AHEAD: Usain Bolt and Shelly-Ann Fraser are front-runners for Sportsman and Sportswoman of the Year.

The nominations for the 49th Annual National Sportsman and Sportswoman of the year are in, and leading the pack this year – again – are double world record holder Usain Bolt and Olympic and World 100 M gold medallist Shelly-Ann Fraser.

Rounding out the list of nine nominees for Sportswoman of the Year are: Melanie Walker, Brigitte Foster-Hylton, Kerron Stewart, Veronica Campbell-Brown, Shericka Williams, cricketer Stefanie Taylor, hurdler Delloreen Ennis-London and netballer Romelda Aiken. Joining Bolt in the line-up for Sportsman of the Year are fellow sprinter Asafa Powell and cricketers Jerome Taylor, Brendan Nash and Chris Gayle.

The awards will be handed out on January 14 at the Jamaica Pegasus Hotel in New Kingston. Guest speaker will be Jamaican-born American athlete Sanya Richards.

No comments:

Post a comment