Thursday, 7 July 2011

CULTURE REPORT: Shaggy giving fans a ‘Jamaican summer’ + Hope Brooks mounts new exhibit at Mutual Gallery

SUMMER HEAT: On July 19, Mr. Bombastic releases an 8-track record, Summer in Kingston, on iTunes. For US$2.99, fans can cop the new disc, which features collaborations with Agent Sasco (Assassin), Jaiden and reggae’s golden boy Tarrus Riley. Check out the complete track listing below:

1. Just Another Girl (feat. Tarrus Riley)
2. Sugarcane
3. Dame
4. Feeling Alive (feat. Agent Sasco)
5. End of the World (Drink Up)
6. Soldiers Story (feat. Jaiden)
7. Fired Up (F*ck The Rece$$ion!)
8. The Only One (feat. Jaiden)

PERSONAL VISION: Artist Hope Brooks, whose last exhibition dates back to 1989, will unveil samples of her work at the Mutual Gallery, with a showcase dubbed “People and Their Stories – Then and Now!” which has been in preparation since 2008. The exhibition (including "Terra Cotta and Blue Bottle," above) will open on July at 7 pm and is staged in partnership with National Commercial Bank, Carreras, Capital and Credit Merchant Bank, Ideal Portfolio Services, Wray & Nephew, RBTT, Super Plus food stores, Island Mist, NEM, BCIC, Scotia Private Banking and KOOL 97 FM. In the new exhibition, Brooks investigates her concern with Jamaica’s past history and more specifically slavery and how this history has impacted the next generations.

Follow TALLAWAHezine on Twitter

No comments:

Post a comment