Monday, 10 October 2011

WOMEN WARRIORS: Trio of women's rights activists awarded 2011 Nobel Peace Prize

LADIES FIRST: Nobel laureates Karman, Gbowee and Sirleaf.

In an attempt to bolster the role of women in struggles to bring democracy to nations suffering from autocratic rule and civil strife, the Nobel Peace Prize was awarded to three champions of women's rights in Africa and the Middle East on Friday.

The Norwegian Nobel Committee split the prize between Tawakkul Karman, a leader of anti-government protests in Yemen; Liberian President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, the first woman to win a free presidential election in Africa; and Leymah Gbowee of Liberia, who campaigned against the use of rape as a weapon in her country's brutal civil war.

In addition to its international prestige, The Nobel Peace Prize is a 10 million kronor ($1.5 million) award.

Follow TALLAWAHezine on Twitter

No comments:

Post a comment