Thursday, 10 August 2017

GETTING THEIR DUE: Theatre’s Patrick Brown, musician Rosina Moder to receive National Order of Distinction

CREATIVE SPIRITS: Moder and Brown are among those to be recognized for their work in the arts.

EACH successive year that the National Honours & Awards are handed out at King’s House, the arts community is usually well represented among the scores of honorees. This year is no different. 

Among those set to be conferred with honours are prolific playwright Patrick Brown, legendary actor Carl Bradshaw, musician and music educator Rosina Moder, entertainment industry icons Copeland Forbes, Clyde McKenzie and Lloyd Stanbury, and stage stalwart Joseph ‘Josey Wales’ Sterling – who will all receive the Order of Distinction (OD) in the Officer Class come National Heroes Day. 

In the rank of Commander, this year’s OD recipients include Phase 3 Productions’ Dr. Marcia Forbes, master blender Joy Spence, the art world’s Keith Anthony Morrison and Robert Russell, widely known for his involvement with the annual Reggae Sumfest festival, now in its 25th year. 

Meanwhile, five estimable movers-and-shakers will be officially made members of the Order of Jamaica (OJ): MVP Track Club’s Stephen Francis, philanthropist Philip Gore, businessman and humanitarian Anthony Keith Hart, UWI Mona principal Prof. Archibald McDonald and Ambassador Clifton George Stone. 

The rarefied Order of Merit (OM), whose past recipients include Bob Marley and Louise Bennett-Coverley, will be conferred on enduring reggae legend Bunny Wailer (né Neville O’Riley Livingston) for his outstanding and pioneering contribution to the field of popular music. 

> The More the Merrier: Additional Order of Distinction honorees 

Commander Class: 
Chris Gayle 
Don Wehby 
George Quallo 
Justice Bryan Sykes 
John Lynch 
Clifton Yap 
Paul Hoo 

Officer Class: 
Stafanie Taylor 
Maurice Wilson 
Simone Edwards 
Rev. Glen Samuels 
George HoSang 
Paul Pennicook 
Theodore Whitmore

No comments:

Post a Comment