Monday, 26 November 2018

2018 PAJ AWARDS: TV-J, 18 Degrees North among big winners at National Journalism honours

WINNING WAYS: Senator Ruel Reid, Sagicor's  Chorvelle Johnson, Journalist of the Year Andrea Chisholm and PAJ president George Davis.

EMCEES Patria-Kae Aarons and Dr. Michael Abrahams kept the pace light and the vibes right as they hosted the 2018 National Journalism Awards inside the Courtleigh Auditorium in New Kingston on Saturday night. As is customary, the show brought the curtains down on the Press Association of Jamaica’s Journalism Week roster of activities, allowing the country’s top reporters and editors to meet and mingle and collect awards for their outstanding work in the past year. 

PAJ president, George Davis, brought greeting on behalf of the association (announcing new education grants for young journalists as of January 2019). In his report, chief judge Patrick Harley gave kudos for the vast improvements in the quality of submissions. And entertainers Nickieshia Barnes and Jermaine Edwards thrilled the audience with their trademark powerful singing. 

As for the awardees, the night’s big winners included TV-J’s Andrea Chisholm (Journalist of the Year), TV-J’s Giovanni Dennis (Investigative Reporting), the Observer’s Racquel Porter (News Reporting – Print), 18 Degrees North’s Zahra Burton (Best TV Feature) and the Gleaner’s Gladstone Taylor (Human Interest Photography). 

>> Some of the other award winners: 

Best Radio Feature/Documentary: Giovanni Dennis (TV-J), “High Society) 
Aston Rhoden Award for News Photography: Napthtali Junior (Observer), “Poor No More” 
Environment Reporting: Kaneal Gayle (Business Access TV), “Saving Refuge Cay” 
Best Feature Story (Electronic): Zahra Burton (18 Degrees North), “Deported and Desperate” 
Children’s Rights reporting: Tyrone Reid, Tauna Thomas (Nationwide Radio), “A Path to Marginalization” 
Junior Dowie Award for Sports Photography: Gladstone Taylor (Gleaner), “Heavyweight Hookl” 
Best News, Sports or Current Affairs Blog: Susan Goffe 
Best Feature Story (Print): Kareem LaTouche (Gleaner), “Above It All” 
News Reporting (Electronic): Vashan Brown (TV-J) 
Young Journalist of the Year: Carlene Davis (Gleaner)

No comments:

Post a Comment