Saturday, 10 August 2019

PEOPLE IN THE NEWS: Keisha Riley-Harrow wins Nurse of the Year … Police Officers’ Assoc. gets new Chairman … Margarette May Macaualay re-elected IACHAR Commissioner

>> Keisha Riley-Harrow is the LASCO/NAJ Nurse of the Year for 2019/20. The announcement was made and trophies and other prizes presented during the annual awards ceremony, hosted recently by the Jamaica Pegasus Hotel in New Kingston. Riley-Harrow took home a cheque valued at $350,000, presented by LASCO Chairman Lascelles Chin. Soshanna Grant-Terlonge was first runner-up, with Fione Collins being named second runner-up. The coveted trophy for Nursing Student of the Year went to Tacquise Campbell, right. LASCO hailed the finalists and all Jamaican nurses for their continued “quiet work behind the scenes saving lives, protecting patients and spearheading community development initiatives.”

>> The Police Officers’ Association has a new Chairman. Superintendent Wayne Cameron now heads up a seven-member executive, comprised of Vice Chair Supt. David White, secretary-treasurer Supt. Maldria Jones and her assistant Supt. Christopher Phillips. Superintendents Catherine Lord and Alvin Allen and Assistant Superintendent St. George Jackson round out the team. The POA represents members of the constabulary from the rank of assistant superintendent and above.

>> After a round of voting at the 49th Organization of American States (OAS) General Assembly, held in Medellin, Colombia recently, renowned Jamaican attorney and human-rights advocate Margarette May Macaualay was re-elected Commissioner of the Inter-American Commission on Human Rights (IACHR). Macaulay’s tenure runs from 2020-2023. Member states also re-elected Panama’s Esmeralda Arosemena de Troitino and elected new members Edgar Stuardo Ralon Orellano and Julissa Mantilla Falcon (Peru).

No comments:

Post a comment